Film photography.

I was introduced to the marvelous world of film photography when I was a little girl. Once my elder brother Jim bought Polaroid camera. It was in the middle of the 1980s. I was really amazed and fascinated by the effect of instant shots. Several seconds and here we are! It was some kind of miracle for me to get a picture then and there. Later I realized the trick and found out nothing special about it… but for short while.

I changed my attitude to photography and especially to film photography several years ago when I started to conceive it as just a perfect form of art intended exactly for me. This type of photography is able to reveal and emphasize my ideas, feelings and emotions. Today I’m keen only on film photography that is unique and like nothing on earth. I like to take film pictures myself as well as obsessed with photos of those who share my love and interest in film photography. Due to some reasons I’m absolutely indifferent to digital photography. Meanwhile I understand there is no any sense to compare these two types or estimate one of them as better than the other. They are absolutely different. And maybe later I would change my point of view concerning digital photography. But not now.

It seems like the film photography boom started five or maybe four years ago when people were keen on Lomography and its effects. The pictures they get as the rule are lo-fi. But it is exactly that trait that attracts millions to this type of photography. I bought LOMO camera myself in 2009. It was Diana+. Probably I made the wrong choice but found out nothing interesting and captivating in it. So I decided to find Jim’s Polaroid camera. It took me ages to dig it out in his old stuff. And I was happy as if I saw it for the first time when I was that surprised and amazed little girl. But it was nothing. The actual problem was a film. Due to Polaroid bankruptcy or probably to other reasons today it is pretty difficult to buy Polaroid films. Well, it is not a problem to find them, but they appear to be pretty expensive. So I have to be quite abstemious taking the shots. And to tell the truth I’m not OK with this. So I managed to find a way out of it. How? Well, Photoshop “Almighty” saved me and my budget. Of course I do not get authentic instant shots and I can control the whole process and get exactly what I want. It is pretty controversial and disputable subject. But today I’m pretty satisfied with the final result and still love film photography.

I continue taking film pictures using my Olympus film camera (Trip AF). You know I like it very much and I’m pleased with it. I bought the camera in 2009 by chance on flea market in Brussels. And fall in love with it immediately.

For me it is still a riddle: what is there special about film photography? Why people are so obsessed with film pictures? Maybe it is some kind of a nostalgia or maybe it is something absolutely different? Who knows…

Enhanced by Zemanta
1 comment
  1. braces said:

    Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness in your post is simply cool and i could assume you are
    an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to
    grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

